North West honours volunteers and celebrates new station and tankers


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) North West Zone today celebrated the achievements of veteran volunteers while welcoming the handover of four new vehicles and the official opening of a new station and an Emergency Operations Centre.

NSW RFS Regional Manager Region West Paul Smith said the new $500,000 Emergency Operations Centre at the Coonamble Fire Control Centre will provide enhanced support to North West Zone volunteers as well as the Coonamble, Warren and Walgett communities.

The new Emergency Operations Centre, which will also be used by other organisations to conduct training, features a large meeting room, office, storage room and a kitchen.

“The NSW RFS and state and local governments are committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the equipment and resources they need to protect their local communities and the new Emergency Operations Centre will help ensure an even greater level of service,” Mr Smith said

Mr Smith also presented six Long Service Medals to six Gillendoon/Yarrandale and Central Warren Rural Fire Brigade members in recognition of their ongoing commitment to their local communities.

The six medal recipients have accumulated a total of 229 years of service between them.

“Each volunteer being recognised has demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts,” Mr Smith said.

“I know they will continue to serve their local communities for many years to come and share their knowledge, experience and firefighting skills both locally and further afield.”

Mr Smith congratulated the members of the Gillendoon/Yarrandale Rural Fire Brigade on the official opening of their new station and the Central Warren brigade on the handover of a Category 1, Category 6 and Category 9 tanker as well as a Group vehicle.

“The new station will provide Gillendoon/Yarrandale volunteers with more room while the four new vehicles will enable firefighters to continue their outstanding work,” Mr Smith said.

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855