Northern Rivers volunteer firefighters awarded for dedicated service


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Assistant Commissioner Bruce McDonald has paid tribute to the hard work and professionalism of Rural Fire brigade members from across the Northern Rivers, presenting 37 members with Long Service Medals at a ceremony held in their honour.

 Assistant Commissioner McDonald acknowledged the volunteers' unwavering dedication to their local communities, noting their long-standing commitment.

"Everyone living in the Northern Rivers area knows how daunting the threat of bush fires can be, and we've seen a number of serious fire seasons over the years.
"It is the commitment and hard work of our volunteer firefighters that plays a pivotal role in protecting communities in times of emergency – and it is that dedication that we are recognising tonight," Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.
"These 37 members receiving Long Service Medals have more than 700 years experience between them, experience that continues to serve their communities well.
"Whether it's responding to bush, grass or structure fires, assisting with storm damage and flood recovery or attending road accidents, our volunteers provide invaluable help 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
"Many of the members being recognised today have been serving with their brigades for more than 20 and 30 years which is an astounding achievement."
Assistant Commissioner McDonald praised the efforts of seven NSW RFS volunteers who have each served for more than 30 years.
"Ray Little, Keith Robinson, Max Pearson, John Cade, Ken Lane, Robert Gordon and Stan Hogan are admirable examples of the steadfast dedication demonstrated by RFS volunteers right across the state.
"I know that all of the members being awarded here this evening give up their time selflessly, and are driven by their commitment to helping their communities in times of emergency.
"Whilst these volunteers certainly don't expect awards or accolades, all of them are most worthy of our gratitude and thanks," said Assistant Commissioner McDonald.

Contact Name: State Media Duty Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855