Northern Rivers Zone honours long serving members


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) members today proudly celebrated long serving volunteers who have dedicated themselves to protecting the Northern Rivers community and its residents from the threat of bush fire and other emergencies.

Member for Lismore Thomas George MP, accompanied by Member for Clarence Chris Gulaptis MP and NSW RFS Chief Superintendent Brett Condie, presented Long Service Medals to 28 recipients in recognition of their 628 years of service.

“The dedication and experience of each and every one of these volunteers is priceless and I know the community is thankful for the world-class fire protection afforded to them by the 47 Rural Fire Brigades within the Northern Rivers Zone,” Mr George said.

“As is the case with all NSW RFS members, these recipients do not ask for praise, however we gladly award these medals as a proud acknowledgement of their efforts.

“Their hard work and commitment does not go unnoticed and this occasion is an apt opportunity for the wider community to say thank you to all NSW RFS members.”

Chief Superintendent Condie said eight of the 28 recipients had dedicated more than 30 years to the Service and community.

“Every member is worthy of the highest praise, however I would like to make particular mention of John Paisley and John Holmes, who are being recognised for their 50 and 46 years of service respectively,” Chief Superintendent Condie said.

“John Paisley followed in the footsteps of his father and joined the Wyrallah Rural Fire Brigade and in the past five decades has filled a number of roles, including Senior Deputy Captain, Brigade President and Secretary. His knowledge and experience has been invaluable as has his contribution to his community.”

“John Holmes has attended a countless number of local and out of area incidents as the Mallanganee Rural Fire Brigade’s deputy captain, including the 2004 Queensland fires and the 1996 Sydney hail storm, and continues to serve the brigade as a First Aid Officer and driver.”

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment to reflect upon the outstanding achievements of all of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855