Shoalhaven volunteers welcome new vehicles to their fleet


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) members are celebrating the official handover of three new fire trucks that will help Shoalhaven volunteers provide an even greater level of fire protection to the local community.

Member for South Coast Shelly Hancock joined NSW RFS Regional Manager Chief Superintendent Ken Hall today to officially hand over the keys to the new trucks at the Integrated Emergency Management Centre at Nowra.

Mrs Hancock said the new tankers, together worth almost $400,000, would enable the Greenwell Point, West Nowra and Culburra brigades to bolster their firefighting efforts across their communities.

“While the previous trucks have served these firefighters very well, I am confident these new state-of-the-art vehicles will prove themselves to be an invaluable asset to these very active brigades as the bush fire season continues,” Mrs Hancock said.

Member for Kiama Gareth Ward said the NSW Government’s ongoing investment in new vehicles ensures NSW RFS members have access to modern firefighting technology when responding to fires and other incidents, such as house fires and motor vehicle accidents.

“The Government is absolutely committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the equipment they need to carry out the important work they do to protect their local communities from fire and a range of other emergencies,” Mr Ward said.

Chief Superintendent Hall thanked the members of Greenwell Point, West Nowra and Culburra, along with every volunteer in the Shoalhaven, for their dedicated service to their local community.

“The efforts of our volunteers do not go unnoticed, and these new vehicles will support the brigades to continue their outstanding work,” Chief Superintendent Hall said.

“These men and women remain on-hand 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and we should be extremely proud and grateful for their contribution.

“I would like to congratulate everybody on their ongoing hard work and professionalism.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855