NSW RFS members recognised for their continued dedication


Region West members were today honored by the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) for their ongoing commitment to the local community at a special ceremony held at the Cudgegong Fire Control Centre.

Three members were presented with Long Service Medals by NSW RFS Senior Assistant Commissioner Bruce McDonald AFSM.

Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald recognised that in total, these medal recipients have accumulated an impressive 93 years of service between them, in volunteer and staff capacities.

“This is testament to the ongoing commitment shown by members to both the NSW RFS and the local community.”
Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald gave particular mention to Superintendent Lyndon Weiland, Manager of the Orana Team and current member of the Neurea Brigade.

“Lyndon has been a valued member of the NSW RFS for 50 years, after joining as a volunteer back in 1967,” Senior Assistant Commissioner McDonald said.

“Lyndon has had a full and committed career with the Service and is dedicated to supporting volunteers and staff within the Orana Team, along with the wider community.

“I also congratulate Inspector Tom McDevitt on being a worthy recipient of the National Medal, with 31 years of service.

“Tom has given so much to his local community since joining as a junior member of the Cootamundra Brigade in 1986, where he is still an active member, along with holding the position of District Coordinator for the South West Slopes Zone.

“The Service also praises the 12 years given by Michael Gapps, who joined the Orchard Hills Brigade in 2001 as a junior member.

“Michael is currently a member of the Winmalee Brigade and since early this year has held the position of Temporary District Assistant for the North West Zone.

“Today’s recipients, as do all NSW RFS members, dedicate themselves to providing a vital service to the community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts.

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855