NSW RFS members recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours


Six NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) members have been recognised for their commitment to the community as part of the annual Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons said the six have received Australian Fire Service Medals, in recognition of their hard work and dedication over a combined total of more than 200 years.

The NSW RFS recipients of Australian Fire Service Medals are:

• Group Captain Garry Kadwell – Upper Lachlan District
• Group Captain Liz Ferris – New England Zone
• Deputy Captain Keith Robinson – Illawarra Zone
• Captain Ronald Headon – Hay Headquarters Brigade
• Superintendent Chris Favelle – Far West Team
• Superintendent Arthur Sharp – Canobolas Zone

“These men and women represent what the NSW RFS is all about – a commitment to community, and people going above and beyond to help others,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“They have a lengthy list of achievements ranging from their leadership during the 2009 Black Saturday bush fires in Victoria, to strengthening local firefighting capacity and fire management, and passing on their skills and experience to fellow members through training.

“The one thing they all have in common is an overwhelming commitment to their community and fellow members.

“While they don’t do it for awards or accolades, it’s very fitting that these members are given rightful recognition for their work.

“We’ve seen only recently the impact that fires can have on communities, and the community should celebrate the role that these members play in protecting them,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

Contact Name: State Media Duty Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855