Oberon District volunteers recognised for their ongoing dedication


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) today recognised the achievements of Oberon District volunteers and thanked them for their long standing commitment to the local community.

NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons presented 31 Long Service Medals and two National Medals to 33 volunteers, who have amassed an impressive 1,084 years of combined service.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons made particular mention of Peter Sheppard, who today received the Long Service Medal 4th Clasp in recognition of his 59 years of service to the Mayfield Rural Fire Brigade.

“Peter is a valued and respected member of the brigade, who has served as captain, senior deputy captain and deputy captain as well as filling the roles of equipment officer and tanker driver,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“I would also like to acknowledge the late Barry Burns, a Deputy Captain and Senior Deputy Captain of the Mayfield Brigade, who is being posthumously awarded the Long Service Medal 2nd Clasp today in recognition of his 34 years of service.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons thanked National Medal 1st Clasp recipients Inspector Michael Holland and Craig Davis for their extraordinary commitment to the NSW RFS and the local community.

“Michael is dedicated to ensuring NSW RFS volunteers receive world class training and his valuable insight is often sought from across NSW, in addition to his experience as an authorized Wildfire Investigator and serving in various roles with multiple Incident Management Teams,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.  

“Craig’s passion for building, construction and workplace health and safety has greatly benefited both his Brigade and the NSW RFS.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said today is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and thank all Oberon District volunteers for their hard work and effort.

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“We must also thank the family, friends and colleagues of these and all volunteers as we know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855