Peak Hill, Monomie and Waratah volunteer firefighters efforts rewarded


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Region West Manager Paul Smith has presented thirty eight members of the NSW RFS with Long Service Medals, praising their ongoing commitment at a ceremony held in their honour 

Mr Smith acknowledged the Peak Hill, Monomie and Waratah volunteers' dedication to their brigades and local communities, paying tribute to their long-standing commitment.

 "Whilst mitigating and fighting bush fires may be our core business, other areas of outstanding work such as the Secondary School Cadet Program, must not go unmentioned. The members in this area should be most proud of their efforts in community engagement.

"It is this commitment and hard work of our volunteer firefighters that plays a pivotal role in protecting communities in times of emergency – and it is that dedication that we are recognising today," Mr Smith said.

"Whether it's responding to bush, grass or structure fires, assisting with storm rescue and recovery, attending road accidents our volunteers provide invaluable help 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

"The 38 members being awarded today have more than 1,600 years experience between them, experience that continues to serve their communities well.

"Today we're seeing six volunteers being recognised for more than 60 years service which is an astounding achievement. Elwin Dietrich, David Boyd, Norma Boyd, Robert Bell, Herbert Griffiths and Jock Agnew are admirable examples of the steadfast dedication demonstrated by RFS volunteers right across the state.

"Equally rewarding is seeing members receive medals for fewer years – a clear indication that the tradition of volunteering is alive and well in this region.

"I know that all of the members being awarded here this morning give up their time selflessly, and are driven by their commitment to helping their communities in times of emergency. "Whilst these volunteers certainly don't expect awards or accolades, all of them are most worthy of our gratitude and thanks," said Mr Smith


Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855