Praise for Hawkesbury District long-standing volunteer firefighters


Hawkesbury District volunteers were today honored by the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) for their ongoing commitment to the local community.

A total of 55 volunteers were presented with Long Service Medals by NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons recognised that in total, these Medal recipients have accumulated an impressive 1121 years of service between them.

“This is testament to the ongoing commitment shown by Hawkesbury District volunteers to both the NSW RFS and the local community,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

Two volunteers were honoured for giving more than 50 years of dedicated service to their Brigades and the local community.

“I’d like to give particular mention to Terry Buckett and Peter Minturn who have been valued members of the NSW RFS for 51 years.

“Terry joined the Kurrajong Brigade in 1965, receiving life membership just last year. Terry has been a very active member and was a foundation member of the Hawkesbury Remote Are Fire Fighting team.

“Peter Minturn is a second generation member of the Kurrajong Brigade and has provided 51 years of service to the community.

“Congratulations must also be given to those members reaching their 40 year milestone of service, including Peter Jones of the Kurrajong Brigade, David Ryan from the Hawkesbury Headquarters Brigade and Christopher Petrikas from the Tennyson Brigade.

“The hard work and professionalism of all Hawkesbury District volunteers does not go unnoticed and this is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and say thank you.

“Today’s recipients, as do all NSW RFS volunteers, dedicate themselves to providing a vital service to the community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts.

“It is an absolute honour to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855