Praise for long serving Shoalhaven District volunteers


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) volunteers from the Shoalhaven District have been honoured for their longstanding commitment to the local community at a special medal presentation held at the Integrated Emergency Management Centre today.

Member for South Coast Shelley Hancock MP and NSW Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM presented 17 Long Service Medals to volunteers from the Shoalhaven District in recognition of their service and dedication to the community.

Ms Hancock said that in total, these awards represented 221 years of combined service in the Shoalhaven District area.

“There are four members at today’s presentation who have each given more than 15 years’ service to their Brigade and their communities,” Ms Hancock said.

“The dedication of all the volunteers being recognised is inspiring.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons made particular mention of Paul Thompson, who has received the Long Service Medal in recognition of his 20 years of service.

“Paul has been a member of the Shoalhaven Communications Brigade for two decades, holding many positions including being the current Brigade Captain,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“I would like to acknowledge dedicated Conjola Brigade member Clive Turner as well, who is being recognised for his 20 years’ active service, including holding the role of Senior Deputy Captain for 11 years.

“Congratulations is also extended to Ross Smith of the Huskisson Brigade for his 18 years’ service and to Kenneth Scarisbrick, on his commitment to the Beaumont Brigade over the last 17 years.

“Every one of these volunteers and all being acknowledged today is worthy of our most sincere thanks.

“I would like to personally commend them, not only for their commitment to the Service, but also to their community.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said the hard work and professionalism of all Shoalhaven District members does not go unnoticed and this is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and say thank you.

“We must also thank the family, friends and colleagues of all our volunteers,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.

“It is an absolute honour to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855