Praise for South West Slopes Zone long-standing volunteer firefighters


Volunteers were today honored by the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) for their ongoing commitment to the local community.

A total of 26 volunteers from the South West Slopes Zone were presented with Long Service Medals by NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Jason Heffernan at a special ceremony in Monteagle.

Assistant Commissioner Heffernan recognised that in total, these medal recipients have accumulated an impressive 842 years of service between them.

“This is testament to the ongoing commitment shown by South West Slopes Zone volunteers to both the NSW RFS and the local community,” Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

“One volunteer, Edgar Cooke, was honoured for giving 60 years of dedicated service to his Brigade and the local community.

“Receiving the Long Service Medal 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th Clasp, Edgar has been a member of the Service since first joining the Cobbity Brigade in 1956.

“A very active and dedicated member, Edgar has also been a member of the Appin and Monteagle Brigade where he has held the positions of Captain and Deputy Captain.

Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said Keith Butt was also recognized for 56 years service with the Monteagle Brigade.

“Joining in 1960, Keith has had a very decorated career receiving the Australian Fire Service Medal in 2009 as well as known for being the longest serving Captain of the Monteagle Brigade,” Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

“The hard work and professionalism of all South West Zone volunteers does not go unnoticed.

“Today’s recipients, as do all NSW RFS volunteers, dedicate themselves to providing a vital service to the community and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts.

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855