Praise for Warringah/Pittwater's long-standing volunteer firefighters


Some of the Warringah/Pittwater areas most experienced and well seasoned volunteer firefighters were applauded today for helping protect their local communities from the ravages of fire.

NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Deputy Commissioner Rob Rogers acknowledged the volunteers' unwavering dedication to their local communities and thanked them for selflessly giving up their time.

"The Warringah/Pittwater area is no stranger to bush fires and everybody living in this region knows all too well the hard work, professionalism and pride that comes with being a NSW RFS volunteer.

"Whether it's responding to bush fire emergencies, like those we’ve seen in recent times, or assisting with flood rescue and recovery – our volunteers are on hand 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

"Some of the members being recognised today have been serving with their brigades for more than 30 and 40 years which is an admirable achievement," said Deputy Commissioner Rogers..

Deputy Commissioner Rogers made particular mention of Allan Brett who has been a member for 42 years and the late Alan Stevens who gave 46 years, each notching up a noteworthy career. Mr Stevens award was accepted by his son Daryl.

“Allan Brett joined the Cottage Point Brigade in 1971 and has been an active member of the Service since that time. He has held several operational positions in the Cottage Point Brigade and in other Brigades across the district. Allan has fought numerous fires locally, across the state and in Victoria.

“Alan Steven, who sadly passed away late last year, joined the Ingleside Brigade in 1966. Allan was an extremely active member holding several positions within the Brigade. Allan attended many local incidents including the devastating fires across the peninsular in 1979 and 1994.

"Both of these members are shining examples of the steadfast dedication demonstrated by NSW RFS volunteer firefighters right across the state.

"Whilst these volunteers certainly don't expect awards or accolades, all of them are most worthy of our sincere gratitude and thanks," said Deputy Commissioner Rogers.


Contact Name: State Media Duty Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855