Recognition for long serving Kentlyn Brigade members


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Macarthur Zone (Kentlyn Brigade) will tomorrow night recognise and celebrate the dedication and commitment of long serving members.

NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Jason Heffernan will join local volunteers to present five Long Service Medals and four National Medals to six recipients at a ceremony at the Western Sydney Leagues Club.

“These members do not volunteer their time for the accolades, however these medals are a proud acknowledgement of the commitment shown by these individuals over the years,” Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

“More than 192 years of service will be recognised tomorrow evening and I know that the community is thankful for the world-class level of fire protection afforded to them by volunteers across the Macarthur District.

“I personally extend my gratitude to all of our dedicated firefighters for their continued service to and for the community.”

Assistant Commissioner Heffernan is honoured to present Lido Turrin AFSM with the 5th Clasp of his NSW RFS Long Service Medal and 4th Clasp of the National Medal.

“Lido has been a dedicated volunteer member of the NSW RFS for 63 years after joining Kentlyn Bush Fire Brigade in 1956 and holding numerous positions with both the Kentlyn and Minto Heights Brigades over the years,” Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

“He was instrumental in the formation of the District and spent time serving volunteers as the Deputy Fire Control Officer for the Campbelltown District.

“Lido also received the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) and Life Membership of the Kentlyn Brigade, where he continues to be a valued member as Deputy Captain.”

Assistant Commissioner Heffernan also acknowledged the contribution of Andrew McDonald, who will receive the 2nd Clasp of his Long Service Medal in recognition of his 38 years of service to the community.

“Andrew has been a diligent member of the NSW RFS for an exceptional period of time for which we are truly grateful,” Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

“He has been a member since 1981 and continues to provide expertise particularly in the areas of aviation.”

Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said that each volunteer being recognised has demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to their community.

“I offer my sincere thanks and gratitude to all the NSW RFS staff and volunteers who continue to work hard for their communities.

“We must also thank the family, friends, employers and colleagues of these and all volunteers. We know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855