Riverina Zone brigades celebrate handover of four new fire trucks


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) members are celebrating the official handover of four new fire trucks that will help Riverina Zone volunteers provide an even greater level of fire protection to the local community.

Member for Wagga Wagga Daryl Maguire MP, Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke MP and NSW RFS Assistant Commissioner Jason Heffernan today attended handover ceremonies held at the Riverina Fire Control Centre and the Marinna Rural Fire Brigade station.

The Marinna, Mangoplah and Glenfield Brigades have each received a new Category 1 tanker while the Forest Hill Brigade has taken receipt of a new Category 11 pumper.

Mr Maguire said the four new vehicles, worth a total of more than $1.4 million, would enable NSW RFS volunteers to provide an even greater level of fire protection to the local community.

“These vehicles will enable Brigades to continue their outstanding work across the Riverina Zone and I would like to take this opportunity to thank each and every volunteer for their dedication towards serving their local community,” Mr Maguire said.

Ms Cooke said ongoing investment in new vehicles ensures NSW RFS members have access to modern firefighting technology when responding to fires and other incidents, such as motor vehicle accidents.

“The NSW RFS, state and local governments are committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the equipment they need to carry out the important work they do to protect their local communities from fire,” Ms Cooke said.

Assistant Commissioner Heffernan, originally from Wagga Wagga himself, said the Glenfield and Marinna Category 1 tankers being replaced will be transferred to the Tarcutta and Harefield Rural Fire Brigades.

“The Riverina Zone’s replacement program ensures that less active brigades also benefit from our investment in new vehicles, by providing them with proven vehicles that still have many years of active service left in them,” Assistant Commissioner Heffernan said.

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855