Southern Border RFS receive two new fire tankers and members honoured for service


Members of the NSW Rural Fire Service (RFS) Southern Border District were celebrated during a special event held in Holbrook today to recognise their dedication and near 400 years’ service amongst them.

Deputy Commissioner Peter McKechnie presented 13 National Emergency Medals, eight Long Service medals as well as one National Medal for RFS members who have rendered sustained or significant service.

“Today is an opportunity to recognise the hard work and incredible contribution of volunteers and staff across the region,” Deputy Commissioner McKechnie said.

“Every single one of these members should be proud of themselves and their dedication to protecting local communities,”

“They stood side-by-side with their fellow firefighters across NSW and faced fierce blazes during one of the most destructive fire seasons in recent memory. It is important to have these volunteers on deck to mentor and guide the younger generation joining the Service now and into the future.” Deputy Commissioner McKechnie said.

“I’d particularly like to recognise Bill Shultz of the Burrumbuttock Brigade and David Harrison of the Woomargama Brigade who have been recognised for their impressive 57 and 64 years of service respectively,” Deputy Commissioner McKechnie said.

In a boost the region’s firefighting capabilities, today’s ceremony also included the handover of the replacement single-cab fire tankers for the Redlands and Rand Rural Fire Brigades.

Both Brigades were excited take receipt of the keys, replacing their previous tankers, which had served their communities for around 30 years.

Deputy Commissioner McKechnie also thanked the family, friends, employers and colleagues of all NSW RFS volunteers.

“We know it takes their ongoing support and patience to assist and enable our volunteers to do what they do to save lives and property,” he said.

“It’s the families who support our volunteers to protect their community who too, should be recognised and thanked today.”

Contact Name: State Media Duty Officer

Contact Phone: 9898 1855