Tamworth volunteers worthy of recognition for service


Members of the NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Tamworth District will be recognised for their dedication and achievements at a special ceremony in Tamworth this morning.

Thirty-five Long Service Medals will be presented to the members by Assistant Commissioner Paul Seager at a ceremony in the newly opened Tamworth Fire Control Centre on Country Road.

Assistant Commissioner Seager said these medals, recognising more than 835 years of combined service, are a proud acknowledgement of the commitment shown by these individuals over the years.

“I know that the community is thankful for the world-class level of fire protection and assistance afforded to them by volunteers across the Tamworth District,” Assistant Commissioner Seager said.

“I personally extend my gratitude to all of our dedicated firefighters for their continued service.”

Assistant Commissioner Seager acknowledged the contribution of Vincent Matthews, who is being awarded the Long Service Medal 5th Clasp and has given 54 years’ service.

“Vincent began his service with the RFS back in 1968 and is a current member of the Moore Creek Brigade,” Assistant Commissioner Seager said.

“I also acknowledge the 52 years that Colin Noon has given. Colin was both Captain and Maintenance Officer with Woolbrook Brigade for 20 years and is now Deputy Captain with Kingswood Brigade receiving today the Long Service Medal 5th Clasp.

“Members of the Tamworth District have always answered the call, not only assisting with incidents locally but also to communities in need across the state.

“The hard work and professionalism of all NSW RFS members does not go unnoticed and while they do not ask for praise, we should take every opportunity to acknowledge their contribution and commitment to their community.

“We also thank the family, friends, employers and colleagues of all NSW RFS volunteers. We know it takes their ongoing support and patience to assist and enable our volunteers to do what they do to save lives and property.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855