The Hills District volunteers recognised for their ongoing dedication


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) today recognised the achievements of The Hills District volunteers and thanked them for their long standing commitment to the local community.

Member for Baulkham Hills David Elliott MP and NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons presented 37 Long Service Medals and six National Medals to 42 volunteers, who have accumulated an impressive 1,049 years of combined service.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons made particular mention of Delia Drummy, who today received the National Medal 1st Clasp and the Long Service Medal 2nd Clasp in recognition of her 33 years of service to the Round Corner Rural Fire Brigade.

“Since joining in May 1984, Delia has filled many roles, including First Aid Officer, Aircraft Officer Assistant, a member of The Hills Chainsaw Team and an active stress counsellor, as well as attending incidents as a firefighter,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

Mr Elliott said he was honoured to present National Medals to Fiona Griffith and Jeffrey Best, who have both repeatedly gone above and beyond in their service to the Glenorie and Middle Dural Rural Fire Brigades, as well as their local communities.

“Fiona has been a Deputy Captain since June 2009 and uses her catering experience and knowledge to ensure firefighters are properly fed during major incidents while Jeffrey attends to his Brigade’s training and planning requirements, ensuring everyone has the necessary skills and equipment,” Mr Elliott said.

Mr Elliott said today is a great opportunity for the broader community to express their gratitude and thank all of The Hills District volunteers for their hard work and effort.

“It is an absolute honor to present these awards and to take a moment in which we can reflect upon the outstanding achievements of these members,” Mr Elliott said.

“We must also thank the family, friends and colleagues of these and all volunteers as we know it takes their support and patience to help Rural Fire Service members do what they do.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855