Total fire bans until further notice


Total fire bans have been declared in four areas until further notice, due to the large number of uncontained fires, and forecast deteriorating conditions in coming days.

The total fire bans will cover the following areas from midnight tonight until further notice:

  • Greater Sydney (including the Blue Mountains and Central Coast areas)
  • Greater Hunter
  • Illawarra / Shoalhaven
  • Central Ranges

The total fire bans are to assist with limiting the potential of new fires starting, while firefighters deal with the large scale of fire activity across these areas.

The NSW Rural Fire Service and Bureau of Meteorology will continue to monitor weather conditions and the level of fire activity in the coming days.

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855