Volunteer firefighters recognised for service



NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons last night acknowledged 53 volunteers from Rural Fire Brigades in Hornsby and Ku-ring-gai for their long and dedicated service.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said the volunteers have each made an invaluable commitment to their communities and are a credit to the Service.

"These volunteers have served with diligence and distinction, accumulating more than 1,100 years of service between them which is an incredible milestone.

"In particular I would like to acknowledge Kenneth Turnidge for 57 years of service as well as John A'Beckett AFSM, and John Corry who have each dedicated more than 45 years to the NSW RFS.

Their unwavering commitment to the serving their communities is inspirational. "These gentlemen are shining examples of the sense of duty displayed by NSW RFS volunteers across the state.

"Mr Turnbrigde, a life member of the Galston Brigade continues to use his knowledge and experience to train and mentor members of the fire spotting tower group. "

Mr A'Beckett was one of the longest serving Group Officers in the Hornsby/Ku-ring-gai area and after stepping down now takes an active interest in the well being and support of his fellow members.

"Mr Corry, after joining the Ku-ring-Gai Brigade in 1965 remains the Brigades longest serving captain. He is a well respected and knowledgeable member and deserving recipient of a Long Service Medal.

"All of our recipients play an essential role in their communities, whether fighting bush fires, attending house fires, road accidents or assisting during storms, floods or other emergencies.

"It's wonderful to see so many of our volunteers receiving recognition for their years of dedication and service and is a clear indication that volunteering is alive and well in this area." said Commissioner Fitzsimmons.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said that volunteers are the backbone of the Service and deserved sincere gratitude from the community for their selfless work.

"While our members don't volunteer for awards or accolades, this is a way for the community to show our sincere thanks for their unwavering commitment," Commissioner Fitzsimmons concluded.

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855