Volunteers honoured and $5.5 million investment in Chifley/Lithgow region celebrated


The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Chifley Zone today celebrated the achievements of volunteers while celebrating the official opening of a new Fire Control Centre, brigade station and vehicle handover.

Member for Bathurst Paul Toole and NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons attended the two ceremonies held in O’Connell and Kelso.

Mr Toole said the new Chifley Fire Control Centre at Kelso, worth $4.5 million, provided enhanced support to the volunteers and the communities they protect.

“This facility provides improved coordination of fire and emergency services in the Chifley area, featuring state-of-the-art firefighting technology, operational and administration areas, kitchen, training and meeting rooms,” Mr Toole said.

“We continually see how hard our skilled firefighters work to keep us safe when bush fires threaten and I offer my sincere thanks and gratitude to all the NSW RFS members for their outstanding efforts.”

Commissioner Fitzsimmons said the new O’Connell Brigade station, worth $770,000 features three vehicle bays, a 50,000-litre roof collection water tank, office, kitchen and storage area.

“The NSW RFS, working cooperatively with the state and local governments, is committed to providing volunteer firefighters with the equipment, infrastructure and resources they need to carry out the important work of protecting their local communities from fire and a diverse array of incidents,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

“I’d like to thank Bathurst Regional Council for their contribution to the new Chifley Fire Control Centre and I also acknowledge the effort put in by the O’Connell Brigade members to their new facility as well."

Along with the O’Connell Brigades new station, the Brigade also received a new Category 1 tanker worth $300,000.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons also presented O’Connell Brigade member Geoffrey Burton with a Long Service medal, acknowledging his 10 years dedication to protecting the local community.

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855