Yass River-Nanima Brigade celebrates 60th anniversary


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Deputy Commissioner Rob Rogers joined members past and present this evening to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Yass River-Nanima Rural Fire Brigade.

Deputy Commissioner Rogers said the Yass River-Nanima Brigade, located within the Southern Tablelands Zone, was formerly part of the larger Manton-Yass River Brigade, from the 1920s through to the 1950s.

“In the mid-1950s a decision was made to form the separate Yass River-Nanima Brigade, due to a growing difference in the firefighting requirements of the two areas,” Deputy Commissioner Rogers said.

“Since its humble beginnings, we have watched the Yass River-Nanima Brigade go from strength to strength, improving their equipment and increasing the proficiency, experience and number of its members.

“From an original membership base in single figures to the record numbers of today, I congratulate the Brigade on its enthusiastic, inclusive culture and the programs run to ensure members are given every possible chance to develop their skills and experience.”

Deputy Commissioner Rogers said the Brigade responds to incidents locally and further afield while also engaging with the local community.

“Yass River-Nanima is known as a Brigade that can be counted on to lend a hand and they regularly provide assistance when needed across the Southern Tablelands Zone,” Deputy Commissioner Rogers said.

Deputy Commissioner Rogers said the respect afforded to members of the Yass River-Nanima Brigade is testament to the dedication of both past and present members.

“Each and every one of these volunteers is worthy of our most sincere thanks and I would like to personally commend them, not only for their commitment to their Brigade and the Service, but also to their community,” Deputy Commissioner Rogers said.

“It is the dedication of all members that will see the Yass River-Nanima Brigade maintain a strong presence in the community into the future.”

Attached files:

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855