$1.7 million rebuild for Western Sydney fire station


Sydney’s newest fire station has opened its doors, with the completion of the $1.7 million development of Mulgoa Rural Fire Brigade celebrated at a ceremony today.

Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience Steph Cooke said the new building is located on the same site as the previous fire station, which the Brigade’s 41 members had outgrown.

“This new building boasts three trucks bays, a large training room, office, kitchen, change rooms and male and female amenities,” Ms Cooke said.

“These facilities will be utilised by a number of Brigades in the local area, helping to strengthen our emergency services right across the western suburbs of Sydney.”

Member for Mulgoa Tanya Davies said the NSW Liberal and Nationals Government is continuing to invest in new facilities and equipment for volunteers.

“There is nothing more important than providing our volunteer emergency service workers with with the facilities and equipment they need to carry out their roles safely and effectively,” Mrs Davies said.

“We’ve had our fair share of storms, floods and bush fires here in Western Sydney and I am very grateful to the people who protect our community each and every day.”

At today’s ceremony, six volunteers received Long Service Medals in recognition of a combined 128 years of service. 14 volunteers were also presented with National Emergency Medals and a Commissioner’s Unit Citation for their work during the 2019-20 fire season.

Rural Fire Service Commissioner Rob Rogers said local volunteers were heavily involved in firefighting operations across NSW during Black Summer.

“Members from the Mulgoa Rural Fire Brigade provided critical support to the community, including at the Green Wattle fire which sadly saw the death of firefighters Andrew O’Keefe and Geoffrey Keaton,” Commissioner Rogers said.

“These Brigade members rendered assistance to the injured volunteers after their truck was struck by a falling tree, and they are worthy recipients of a Commissioner’s Unit Citation for their efforts.”

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: (02) 9898 1855