Police and Emergency Services recognised in Australia Day Honours


After a year of exceptional challenges for our frontline agencies, 20 Police and Emergency Services personnel and volunteers have received awards today as part of the 2021 Australia Day Honours for their commitment and dedication to protecting the people of NSW.

The Australian Police Medal was awarded to eight members of the NSW Police Force, the Australian Fire Service Medal was awarded to seven volunteers from the NSW Rural Fire Service and three Fire and Rescue NSW firefighters, while two members of the NSW State Emergency Service and NSW Volunteer Rescue Association received the Emergency Services Medal.
Minister for Police and Emergency Services David Elliott congratulated the men and women who have been honoured for their service.

“Over the past year we have seen exceptional heroism from our Police and Emergency Services who were on the frontline during the COVID-19 pandemic and the catastrophic bush fires,” Mr Elliott said.

“This is an opportunity to recognise those who have put their lives on the line to protect the community – and this honour is a reflection of our gratitude and thanks for their professionalism and selflessness.

“These recipients exemplify the resilience and mateship that are integral to our community.

“On behalf of the people of NSW, I’d like to thank our police officers, emergency services personnel and volunteers for their ongoing service, and reinforce the Government’s commitment to providing our frontline agencies with the resources they need to keep our communities safe.”

Australian Police Medal
Detective Superintendent Jonathan Andrew Beard, NSW Police Force
Inspector Gary John Coffey, NSW Police Force
Sergeant Lisa Marie Green, NSW Police Force
Chief Inspector Joseph Anthony McNulty, NSW Police Force
Sergeant Brett Raymond Samuel, NSW Police Force
Detective Superintendent Paul Andrew Smith, NSW Police Force
Chief Inspector Peter Francis Volf, NSW Police Force
Sergeant Scott David Weber, NSW Police Force

Australian Fire Services Medal
Group Captain Darren Breust, NSW Rural Fire Service
Inspector/Firefighter Guy Roland Duckworth, NSW Rural Fire Service
Group Captain Glen Vincent Howe, NSW Rural Fire Service
Captain Thomas John Marshall, NSW Rural Fire Service
Group Captain Kenneth Arthur Pullen, NSW Rural Fire Service
Captain Dennis Andrew Stannard, NSW Rural Fire Service
Captain Alice Joyce Strutt, NSW Rural Fire Service
Deputy Commissioner Jeremy Fewtrell, Fire and Rescue NSW
Superintendent Norman Buckley, Fire and Rescue NSW
Captain John Dun, Fire and Rescue NSW

Emergency Services Medal
Matthew Chifley, NSW State Emergency Service
Glenn Hinton, NSW Volunteer Rescue Association

You can find a full list of the Australia Day Honours List here.

Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 98981855