Queens Birthday Honours for Emergency Services


Police and Emergency Service Minister Michael Gallacher has congratulated ten NSW Emergency Services personnel who have received awards today as part of the Queen's Birthday Honours.

Six NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) members and three Fire and Rescue NSW (FRNSW) officers have been awarded the Australian Fire Services Medal, one of the highest honours for Australian fire fighters.

A member of the NSW State Emergency Service has also been awarded the Emergency Services Medal for her contribution to the community.

"These medals are in recognition of the ongoing hard work and dedication demonstrated by emergency service workers across NSW," Mr Gallacher said.

"I would like to express the sincere gratitude of both the NSW Government and the people of this State for the contribution made by each of the recipients.

"Whether they are volunteers or paid officers, these dedicated individuals have, and continue to show, a steadfast commitment to the protection of the people of NSW during times of emergency - a commitment, which at times poses a risk to their own personal safety.

"As well as responding to all manner of emergencies including flood, fire, road accidents and rescue efforts, the recipients recognised here today also sacrifice time with their families and friends to assist with local community events and public education.

"Whilst none of our emergency services personnel undertake their role for public recognition or accolades these medals represent the community's gratitude for their vital work.

"Today these men and women are acknowledged by a nation that appreciates their contribution and commitment, and I congratulate each and everyone of them," Mr Gallacher concluded.


Captain Judee Bryant

Ms Bryant has been a dedicated member of the NSW Rural Fire Service for 30 years and is currently the Captain of the South Durras Rural Fire Brigade on the far south coast.

She has been influential in raising funds for the Eurobodalla Training Centre for over 20 years, a centre utilised by local brigades and other agencies including the CSIRO and Police.

Judee continues to contribute extensively to the coordination and delivery of training to both local and out of area brigades.

Jeffrey Cree

Mr Cree has been a valued member of the NSW Rural Fire Service for 41 years and has held a field officer position for 38 of those years.

He has attended fires across NSW as well as being deployed as a Task Force leader to fires in Victoria and South Australia.

Mr Cree remains an active member of the Davidson Brigade in the Warringah/Pittwater District and continues to assist in district based training and raising the awareness of fire safety and the NSW RFS in the community.

Group Captain Norman Carter

Mr Carter has been a member of the Gloucester district of the NSW Rural Fire District since 1960 and continues providing active service as the Group Captain.

He represents volunteers on the local Bush Fire Management Committee and is actively involved with the annual inspection and maintenance of fire trails.

His superior leadership and communications skills continue to hold him in high regard with his fellow volunteers.

Superintendent David Hoadley

Superintendent Hoadley joined the Blayney Rural Fire Brigade in 1969 before being appointed as the part time fire control officer for the Blayney Shire Council in 1992.

In 2001 he was appointed manager after playing a significant role in the development of the Canobolas Zone responsible for the Blayney, Cabonne and Orange areas.

Mr Hoadley has been a strong advocate for volunteers playing a significant role in the strategic direction of the Service.

Roy Stacy

Mr Stacy fought bushfires in the Blue Mountains with the RAAF before officially joining the bush fire service in 1947.

He was instrumental in establishing the Kooba Bush Fire Brigade and remained captain for 13 years before moving to Griffith Brigade where he remains an active member of the executive.

Mr Stacy was awarded the Griffith community Citizen of the Year in 1990 and Lifetime Volunteer of the Year in 2009.

Group Captain Grahame Fothergill

Mr Fothergill joined the Service with the Farmborough Heights Brigade in 1977 where he held the position of Captain for 20 years before being appointed as Group Captain five years ago, a position he still holds today.

He has attended fires across NSW and interstate. Mr Fothergill provides the highest level of dedication and commitment to his fellow volunteers and ensures the welfare and needs of his crews come before his personal well-being. He is widely respected and a great ambassador of the Service.

Contact Name: Tess Salmon (Minister's Office)

Contact Phone: 0467 740 017