Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards honour emergency services workers


Twenty-four emergency services workers with more than 466 years of combined service make up the finalists for the 2019 Rotary Clubs and Districts of NSW Emergency Services Community Awards.

These finalists come from many walks of life, representing each of Fire and Rescue NSW, NSW Ambulance, NSW State Emergency Services, NSW Rural Fire Service, NSW Volunteer Rescue Association and Marine Rescue NSW.

Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott said the awards shine a light on the enormous contribution of emergency services workers.

“Emergency services workers and volunteers give so much of themselves to the community and ask so little in return. We are indebted to all our unsung heroes and will never take for granted their commitment to protecting the community,” Mr Elliott said.

“These awards honour everyday Australians who have given decades of service including SES volunteer Cecil Bond of Gundagai, with 45 years’ service, and Warwick Teasdale of Kilcare, with more than 43 years’ service in the NSW RFS.

“This year’s finalists have almost five centuries’ combined service and I thank them all for their exemplary efforts.”

In addition, the emergency services Commissioners will each nominate an outstanding individual for the $1000 Dorothy Hennessy OAM Emergency Services Youth Scholarship to be decided by a Rotary NSW panel.

Winners will be announced at an Awards Presentation Dinner at the Bankstown Sports Club. Family, friends, supporters and the general public are invited to attend the presentation dinner. Tickets can purchased at

Service/AgencyFirst NameLast NameCommunity/Suburb
Fire and Rescue NSWDavidCrossBankstown
Fire and Rescue NSWMatthewPridhamDubbo
Fire and Rescue NSWAdamRichardsCentral Coast
Fire and Rescue NSWAnthonyWallerWollongong
Marine Rescue NSWRaymondAngelPort Macquarie
Marine Rescue NSWDavidHandPort Jackson
Marine Rescue NSWKevinHillHuskisson
Marine Rescue NSWMitchellHarveyWoolgoolga
NSW AmbulanceLindsayCourtBankstown
NSW AmbulanceKevinMcSweeneyNorthmead
NSW AmbulanceGarthTHomsonAlbion Park
NSW AmbulanceBenToryAshford
NSW Rural Fire ServiceLindiKingdomHornsby
NSW Rural Fire ServiceVicki MatthewsCoonabarabran
NSW Rural Fire ServiceEdwinNewberyCopmanhurst
NSW Rural Fire ServiceWarwickTeasdaleKillcare
NSW SESCecilBondGundagai
NSW SESLeonieCoxTingha
NSW SESPeterDaddHunters Hill
NSW SESDavidJohnsunCanada Bay
NSW VRAMichaelBrewerGlenn Innes
NSW VRAFrankFlemingInverell
NSW VRAPaulMarshallAlbury
NSW VRANatalieO'BrienDubbo

Contact Name: Shae McLaughlin

Contact Phone: 0439 824 831