Young NSW SES and NSW RFS volunteers recognised


Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant today announced the winners of the 2017 NSW State Emergency Service (NSW SES) and NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Cadet of the Year and Young Volunteers of the Year at a special ceremony at Parliament House.

The Cadet of the Year Award was established in 2009 to acknowledge the efforts of a participant in each of their respective Secondary School Cadet Programs; both agencies have additional award programs for young members under 25 who contribute by volunteering with their local SES Unit or Rural Fire Brigade.

Mr Grant said National Volunteer Week was the perfect opportunity to host the Young People in Emergency Services Awards and recognise cadets for their achievements, and the important role played by young people in the emergency services.

“We are lucky to have a strong culture of volunteerism embedded in our social fabric. It is exciting to see the next generation continue with values of service above self,” Mr Grant said.

“These awards recognise the achievements of young people at different stages of involvement with emergency volunteering and I congratulate each of them on their achievement.

“These youngsters, and their peers, represent the future of emergency volunteering, and I wish them well in their future endeavours as they help protect their communities in floods, fires, storms and other emergencies.”

NSW RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons said it was great to see committed and engaged young people in emergency service volunteering, whether through their local Brigade, or as a cadet in the NSW RFS Secondary School Cadet Program.

“The interest and enthusiasm of young members in the NSW RFS is significant and these awards acknowledge their hard work and genuine desire to contribute and give back to their local community,” Commissioner Fitzsimmons said.

NSW SES Commissioner Mark Smethurst said that he was proud of the contribution that young volunteers were making to emergency services such as the SES and RFS.

“Young people have a great deal they can offer their communities and volunteering with the SES can reward them with skills and confidence they can use in other areas of their life,” Commissioner Smethurst said.

Award Winners:

Cadet of the Year
Holly Hughes (NSW SES – Northern Beaches Secondary College, Manly Campus); and
Anthony Coan (NSW RFS – Former student of Carenne School in Bathurst)

NSW SES Andy Roberts Memorial Cadet Award for Outstanding Achievement
Rachella Biviano (NSW SES – Georges River Grammar School)

Young Volunteer of the Year Aged 16-25
Ally Sheen (NSW SES – Member of the NSW SES Liverpool Unit); and
Ash Morrow (NSW RFS – North West Orange Brigade, Canobolas District)

NSW RFS Young Volunteer of the Year Award Aged 12-15
Jack McQuellin (NSW RFS – Riverina Highlands Cadet Brigade, Snowy Valleys District)

Contact Name: Douglas Martin

Contact Phone: 0438 371 354