Share this link

Local committees

The Zone has a number of Committees and volunteers who help the community. The committees are: .

  • Bush Fire Management Committee
  • Group Captains
  • Community Engagement Group
  • Permit Issuing Officers

Bush Fire Management Committee

A Bush Fire Management Committee (BFMC) provides a forum for cooperative and coordinated bushfire management in a local area.

It also provides for community involvement in the Bush Fire Risk Management process and assists the Bush Fire Coordinating Committee to consider issues relevant to the protection of life, property and the environment from bushfires.

BFMCs are responsible for preparing, coordinating, reviewing and monitoring the Plan of Operations and Bush Fire Risk Management Plan for their area.

They assist in the coordination of bush fire detection, mitigation, control and suppression.

A range of stakeholders sit on BFMCs in order to ensure the whole community has a say on bush fire management activities. They include landholders, land managers, fire authorities and community organisations. The Bland Temora BFMC has the following representatives:

Representatives Agency/Organisation
Steve Holden (Manager, Bland Temora Zone) NSW Rural Fire Service
Steve Firth Temora Shire Council
Will Marsh Bland Shire Council
David Heinrich Farmers Association
Robin Mares National Parks and Wildlife Service (Griffith)
Ian Thompson Nature Conservation Council
Trevor Pinfold (Group Captain, Bland Temora Zone) NSW Rural Fire Service
Stephen Campbell Forests NSW
David Scealy John Holland Rail
David Denyer (Group Captain, Bland Temora Zone) NSW Rural Fire Service
Allan Dawes LHPA Wagga
Colin Honeyman Roads and Maritime Service
Casey Proctor CMA - Cowra
Ryan Mattingly Crown Lands