South West Slopes

The South West Slopes Zone takes in the Local Government Areas of Cootamundra, Harden, Young and Boorowa. There are 50 Rural Fire Brigades within the Zone. Grass fuels predominate throughout the Zone with some light and heavily timbered country in the North East. There are five staff working in the areas of Infrastructure, Membership, Operations, Administration and Management.

Latest News

Get the latest news from the NSW RFS South West Zone team


Find your local NSW RFS brigade here


The latest weather conditions and forecasts for the South West Slopes area

Fire information

Get information on current fires and other incidents

Plan and prepare

Prepare your home, your family and yourself for bush and grass fires

Hazard reduction

Hazard reduction is an important part of preparing for bush fires. If you see smoke, it could be from a hazard reduction. You can check the location of these activities here

About our area

Meet the NSW RFS South West Slopes team and find out more about the work we do

Photo and video gallery

See more of our members in action in our photo and video galleries

Contact us

If you've got a question, comment, suggestion or complaint, you can contact the South West Slopes Zone here....


The South West Slopes Zone of the NSW Rural Fire Service has provided you with a number of links to associated organisations.