Recognition, reward and a $300,000 upgrade for Tamworth volunteers


NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons has spent the last two days celebrating with Tamworth's unsung heroes as he officially opened three brand new Rural Fire Brigade stations, handed over the keys to a new bush fire truck and presented volunteers with Long Service Medals 

Commissioner unveiled Thirldene Rural Fire Brigade's new station, noting the brigade's commitment to their remote farming community.

"Whilst this brigade may be based in a somewhat isolated location the experience and expertise of its members is invaluable when it comes to providing emergency assistance at all manner of incidents.

"The Tamworth District is fortunate to have more than 1,200 RFS members dedicated to providing round-the-clock support in their local towns and villages, and further afield when required.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons also joined members of the Garoo and Halls Creek Rural Fire Brigades as they opened the doors to their new stations.

"It is a great pleasure to formally hand over a replacement firefighting truck to the Halls Creek Brigade whilst we're here celebrating the completion of these stations.

"As history has demonstrated, this area is no stranger to bush fire emergencies and these facilities are unquestionably a tremendous asset, both to local brigades as well as the residents and landholders they help protect."

Paying tribute to the longstanding allegiance of Tamworth's volunteer firefighters, Commissioner Fitzsimmons presented 56 Long Service Medals at a ceremony held in their honour.

"The NSW Rural Fire Service prides itself on the selfless contribution of its members, and these men and women are an inspiring representation of the calibre of volunteers within our ranks.

"Many of these medal recipients have served with their brigades for more than 30 years, with some members notching up close to 40, 50 and 60 years.

The leadership, guidance and experience they have brought to their communities is unsurpassable, and I would personally like to thank them for their steadfast dedication," Commissioner Fitzsimmons concluded.


Contact Name: State Duty Media Officer

Contact Phone: 02 9898 1855